Happy Birthday World of Warcraft

World of Warcraft turns 5 years old today! But I’m sure you knew that already, unless you’re a murloc living under a rock somewhere! So… Happy Birthday World of Warcraft! Thank you for everything you do for all of us subscribers, whether we show you appreciation for it or not. Thank you for 5 great years of fun, mystery, intrigue, and a great story. Thank you for the in game pets; I really like my Onyxian Whelpling, along with my Frost Whelp and Baby Blizzard Bear.

I’d like to take a quick moment to tell you about some of my first memories of World of Warcraft. Buying the game was actually an accident. I went into a local GameStop one night, three days after the launch of the game. I had a collector’s edition of EverQuest 2 in one hand, and a regular edition of World of Warcraft in the other. I asked the store attendant (who turns out to not know a THING about video games! I mean, really? You WORK in a VIDEO GAME STORE!) which game I should buy. She didn’t have a clue, but told me that if it made any indication at all, the copy of World of Warcraft that I was holding was their last one.

I bought World of Warcraft *sage nod*

I went home and installed it, having NO expectations, as I was transferring in from Ultima Online and Star Wars Galaxies. I create a Dwarf Warrior on Feathermoon, and logged in. The acronym WoW really stood out. I was amazed at the level of detail in the game right off the bat. No, not the graphics. I don’t have a good enough laptop or computer for that. What I mean is the quests! Yes! The quests that no one takes the time to read anymore. You know.. you turn on instant quest text so that you can immediately accept the quest. I’ve always kept mine on. Makes for a good read.

Other little things I found amazing while running around in Dun Morogh… I could hear the crunch of the snow under my feet. It was really cool! Oh, and cooking! Beer Basted Boar Ribs! Best thing on the planet! I must of have made like.. a lot!

Looking forward to the next year we have Cataclysm on the horizon. Old things will become new again! And I can’t wait. I will finally get to complete my in game family with the return of Khelandros and Aeoar’s father Khisanith and we will learn more about their Gilnean heritage!

Until next time my friends…

3 Responses to Happy Birthday World of Warcraft

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cynwise of Stormwind, Khelandros Glowember. Khelandros Glowember said: New Blog Post @ https://wyrmsfire.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/happy-birthday-world-of-warcraft/ […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by Wyrmsfire: New Blog Post @ https://wyrmsfire.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/happy-birthday-world-of-warcraft/

  3. Tara says:

    I genuinely savored your blog I found a lot of good information in it. I also found some good info at WoW Fishing Bot hopefully that will assist some of your blog readers. Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

